I’m Learning to Keep it Simple

by Elaina Ayala

Have you ever had the Lord speak to you about something that completely rocked your world and began to reveal to you why you are the way you are and why you do what you do? 

Those moments are both wonderful, but also very unsettling if the thing being challenged is built on any foundation other than what God says is true.

To be completely honest, ever since 2024 began, it feels as if I am coming into a new era in my Christian walk. Things that I have pressed in for for years, are suddenly opening up with ease and simplicity. I’m talking about mindsets and belief systems.

Along with this new freedom, comes a lot of unlearning and relearning. It’s requiring me to slow down and not go about business as usual. I’m having to really be intentional and reestablish who I’m going to be and how I’m going to live my life. 

If I truly want to hold onto this new-found freedom, I have to change and reorder my life in a way that reinforces it. 

With all of this in mind, a few weeks back, I remember being so overwhelmed with the reality of everything that was going to need to change and the ramifications it may bring into my life. 

Does your brain work like this, too? LOL

Maybe you’re in the same boat as me. I want to share three simple things the Lord spoke to me in prayer one morning.

He said, here’s what you are to do today:

  1. Be present
  2. Less self
  3. Ask God.

Here’s why this simple list is so profound…

Be present because you won’t be able to see what opportunities or blessings are right in front of you if your mind is preoccupied with what’s next.

Less self. Most of our issues and conflicts arise due to our own selfishness. Choose to love, serve, and honor others, before seeking to be loved, served or honored by others. 

Ask God. Instead of stressing and hustling our way through life, we should ask our generous God. He takes delight in answering prayer.  

P.S. Do you have a hard time asking people for things in your normal life? Ask God why that is. The answer may be deeper than you think and may be affecting how you ask God for things.

Here’s the point — When God begins shifting things around in your world, embrace what He’s doing. Don’t get caught up in the chaos of change, but rather drop deeper roots into His truth and you will make through.

With love,

Elaina Ayala

heartandlife.org

Leave a comment